Garden Produce 2012

Leave a comment

September 24, 2012 by Summersend

If you have been following along, you will know that gardening is something I enjoy doing, and that this year has been a particularly good year for our garden. I spent most of the summer keeping up with the warm weather by watering almost everyday, and still it did not seem to be enough. I am so thankful that we have a well with unlimited water, I could not imagine trying to stay on top of the watering with having to pay for the water.

 

Throughout the summer I picked as much as I could. The garden just kept producing! I picked, blanched and froze about 10 cups of peas, canned about 6 quarts and 6 pints of beans, put away more Zucchini than we will need I am sure, and dried about 2 gallons of onions, the garden just kept on going.

 

Last week we dug up an stored about 200lbs of potatoes, WAY more than we thought we were going to get. Last year our potatoes were small, baby size potatoes for the most part. This year they were the size of my fist and sometimes even bigger. Color me happy!

 

Today I popped out to finish bringing in our carrots. I have washed and have drying about 13 pounds of carrots. All are about the size of my finger, but a few are nice and big. Next year I will need to remember to thin them a bit more. (I have a hard time with that, since I feel like I am throwing away food. . . ) Either way, they are tasty and I am pretty happy with that haul.

 

I have a few thoughts for next year’s garden though – I must take better care of my tomatoes! I would like to get more than a handful of edible ones. I am also going to keep the carrots far away from the ever-bearing strawberries – can you spell TANGLED MESS!?! Also, make sure that all my rows of peas have a trellis. I left one untrellised and although it did produce quite well, it is way easier to pick the peas when they are off the ground. Lastly, get the corn in a bit earlier. We had a great crop, but the frost cut its maturing time a bit short. Lots of ears, just not ready to eat. The chickens will enjoy them though.

Overall I am quite happy with how our garden has done. I have a row of garlic that I hope comes up next year, and a row of Asperagus that we are trying out. Should be fun.

Leave a Reply

Contact Summersend

250-794-6906
summersendfarm@gmail.com
September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
