What a Week!

Leave a comment

September 20, 2012 by Summersend

This week has been a busy one for all of us here at Summersend Farm. I have been busily getting ready for the change of seasons. Summer has been kind, and is hanging on so nicely, as a result it is making yard work so much easier!

The kids and I spent most of the weekend working on Christmas Gifts, I know, I know, a bit early, but I hate to be rushed. We also have a number of gifts that need to be sent out, so they always need to be ready ahead of time. I have been trying out a few new ideas this year – I will post some pictures soon of some of the projects I have been working on.

I loaded up the horses and took them into the arena on Monday. I had the farrier trim up their feet, they are looking pretty sharp, if I do say so myself. Joe was also dropped off for a trial at a possible new home. It was a very hard decision to sell my boy, he is a great horse. I feel pretty confident that he will be at a great place if they do decide to take him. The pasture feels so empty without him there running around.

Yesterday was spent building more rabbit cages – three to be exact. All the bunnies have moved into their new homes and are loving them. I spoil my bunnies, they have large 2.5 ft by 6 ft cages, lots of room to move around that way. I plan to post a DIY on how to build these cages using wire and zip ties.

We also did a bit of work in the garden yesterday afternoon. I am happy to say that we dug about 200 lbs of potatoes, 3 gallons of beets and the last of the onions. Unfortunately the turnips did not take this year, the were small and wormy. So off to the the chickens they went. I am going to bring in the carrots in the next few days, then it is time to put the garden to bed for the winter. I have put on my Wish List (as my birthday is coming soon) that I would like a few more beds built so they are ready for next year. We will see how that goes.

Finally, today was spent picking up another bunny to add to our little herd; a beautiful broken doe who should be having babies in the next few weeks. She is the mom to one of our bucks, I can not wait to see how the babies turn out! I surprised the kids with her, they were thrilled!

That is the quick rundown or my life at the moment – stay tuned for some DIY posts and some pictures of all the wonderful things happening here on the farm.

De-anna

Leave a Reply

Contact Summersend

250-794-6906
summersendfarm@gmail.com
September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
