lessons learned: cleanin’ out the coop and letting go of the muck

Leave a comment

August 16, 2012 by Summersend

I just love this coop. so colorful, and why not, right? Those chickens are probably pretty happy.

growing grace farm

Today is Saturday, the day I complete my top-to-bottom weekly cleaning of the chicken coop.  Oh yay!  There is much to love about homesteading, but cleanin’ out the coop ain’t one of ’em.  In brief, it includes hauling all the used mulch and straw to the compost heap then washing out the sleeping quarters, spreading out clean bedding then remulching the coop and the run.  You get dirty and stinky, and in the summer it is hot, sweaty, and buggy.  I know, right?!

But in the past few weeks, I have discovered that this activity has afforded me a personal benefit–cleanin’ out the muck.  My muck, that is.

One thing I’ve learned about this chore–it takes little brain power.  Lots of time, but little brain power.   And that’s where the gift presents itself.  Because I am not distracted by the impending to-do list or the pinging of email or the…

View original post 204 more words

Leave a Reply

Contact Summersend

250-794-6906
summersendfarm@gmail.com
August 2012
S M T W T F S
    Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
